Quirky and Funny Inspiration from our pets: Thinking outside the box

Image

I found this book at my last book reading at Boneshaker Books in Minneapolis, MN and I had to share with everybody.  I hadn’t laughed like that in a good while.  This pocket size book by Francesco Marciuliano was filled with poetry by cats.  Perfect for an author who writes about animals on imaginary islands.  Talk about getting into character.  Imagine a cat at a type writer filling a blank page with their jealousies, joys, and mischief.  For those of you struggling to get published maybe it’s time to think outside the box and break from traditional characters.  Picture your best friend or your best foe.  Are they an animal?   I don’t know if my find was an inspiration or depressing but somehow cats managed to get published?  A publisher would love my cat more than me?  Maybe we should all pretend to be our pets for a day, then we would have a publishing contract 🙂   – Mahieu

Here’s the link about the book for those interested:  http://www.chroniclebooks.com/i-could-pee-on-this.html.

Leave a Reply

